Now Rohit Sharma will be the new captain of the Indian cricket team in ODI cricket. The BCCI has removed Virat Kohli from the captaincy. Earlier, Kohli had resigned as captain of T20 cricket. According to media reports, the BCCI had asked Kohli to resign as captain voluntarily. However, when Kohli did not hear this, the board handed over the reins of the team to Rohit Sharma.

The BCCI had given Virat Kohli 48 hours to voluntarily resign as captain. The selection committee on Wednesday announced the decision to replace Virat with Rohit as India’s ODI captain. The BCCI’s statement did not include any mention of Virat Kohli’s dismissal, saying only that the selection committee had decided to make Rohit the captain of the ODI and T20 teams.

The National Selection Committee and the BCCI removed Virat from the captaincy, whose ambition is likely to lead the Indian team to the 2023 ODI World Cup at home. By the time India were knocked out of the group stage of the Twenty20 World Cup, Virat’s dismissal from the captaincy was almost certain.

In the end, the BCCI seems to have no choice but to oust Virat. The BCCI then went ahead and did the same. After Dhoni, Virat Kohli became the captain of the team. Now Virat Kohli will lead the Test team and Rohit Sharma will lead the limited overs. It will start with a tour of South Africa. India will play a series of three Tests and three ODIs in the tour. The first Test will be played at Centurion from December 26.

Rohit’s appointment as the new ODI captain has been welcomed by many former cricketers and commentators. Former England captain Michael Vaughan said it was the right decision. The ICC has also congratulated Rohit. The ICC has said that a new era has begun for India in limited overs cricket.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here